top of page
Writer's pictureKrizia Bruno

My World Turned Upside Right

Updated: Aug 17, 2018



Use your imagination with this scenario:

After two years of taking hardcore schedules of biology and chemistry courses, your life is uprooted and planted in a different world that you’re used to. 

This new world is small; even in its minuscule appearance, the products of this world are comparable to the universe our human world resides in. Once I used to squeeze the names of the 20 amino acids (alanine, arginine, asparagine, aspartic acid, cysteine, glutamic, glycine, ...) into my brain much like when I attempt to zip close a stuffed suitcase for winter break by sitting on it. It’s in there, but by the sheer faith in the strength of a series of interlocking metal nibs.

This new world requires me to pull out the silver thread of creativity from my mind’s eye, weave it into a delicate and intricate web of words. That’s the beauty of being an English and Writing major. Life isn’t filled with formulas and unbelievably long words for every component Life is made up of. Life isn’t analytical anymore, nor so rule heavy. Don’t get me wrong, the linguistic world I’ve moved into definitely has its fair share of rules. Such as, how to properly use the semi-colon and knowing the difference and significance between the n-dash (–), the m-dash (—), and a hyphen (-). Yes, they are not the same and are not used interchangeably. In this world, playing with the rules in your favor is encouraged. I can move freely, stretch myself out, and take up the space I need. My fingertips work in conjunction with my mind and soul to fabricate my own unique universe.

Fragments of my old world still cling to me like a child with a long-loved blanket. That part of me will never fade to dust; it’s embedded into what makes me, me. I’m along for the ride to discover more worlds I’ll assimilate in.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page